Five cities hold June elections

Five Tennessee municipalities held local elections during the month of June.
Brownsville, Livingston, Maynardville, Plainview, and Parsons all held municipal elections in June. Livingston and Maynardville also voted on referendums.
A total of 64 municipalities will hold elections coinciding with the Aug. 2 mid-term primaries while nearly another 200 cities and towns plan to host elections coinciding with the Nov. 6 mid-term elections.

The city of Brownsville held a municipal election on June 19. Mayor William “Bill” Rawls Jr. ran unopposed and retained his seat.
Incumbent candidate Carolyn Flagg also retained her seat as Brownsville’s Ward 2 Alderwoman, defeating challenger Broderick Pearson.
Travis Pugh defeated fellow challenger Tom Bridgewater and incumbent Tom Averyheart for the position of Brownsville’s Ward 4 Alderman.

The city of Livingston held a municipal election on June 6 to select at-large aldermen and to vote on a liquor referendum.
Incumbent candidate David Langford will be joined by challengers Chris Speck and Kelly Coleman on the city’s board of mayor and aldermen. Incumbents Bill Linder and David Sadler II did not garner enough votes for re-election.
Livingston residents also voted 425-370 to permit retail package stores to sell alcoholic beverages in the city.

The city of Maynardville also held elections for city commission seats as well as a liquor referendum on June 26.
Challengers Ty Blakley and Marty Janeway Smith unseated incumbents H.E. Smiley Richardson and Charles W. McClure for the two open city commission seats. Richardson has been serving as Maynardville’s mayor.
Maynardville residents also voted 177-131 in favor of the referendum to authorize liquor-by-the-drink.

The Plainview Board of Mayor and Aldermen also held an election on June 26.
Alderman Gordon Bright was re-elected to his unexpired alderman term, running unopposed.
Incumbent candidates Richard D. Phillips and Josh Collins also took the two open aldermen seats over challenger Myrna Hopper.

The city of Parsons held a municipal election on June 7. Mayor Tim David Boaz ran unopposed and was re-elected to his seat.
Incumbents J. Kevin Cagle, Marty Carrington, Joseph Fisher, and William Dale Reynolds were all re-elected to their seats while newcomers Danny M. Mills, Lanny “Spud” Taylor, and Larry E. Townsend were selected for the open city council seats. Mark A. Davis, Bobby Rainey and Joe D. White did not seek re-election.