Mumpower elected new TN Comptroller; Hargett, Lillard re-elected to another term

Members of the Tennessee Senate and House have elected Jason Mumpower as Tennessee’s 35th Comptroller of the Treasury. The vote by acclamation was taken during a joint session of the 112th General Assembly on Jan. 13.

Members also re-elected David Lillard as the state treasurer and Tre Hargett as secretary of state.

Mumpower will be responsible for leading the Office of the Comptroller of the Treasury, which comprises 12 divisions and more than 560 employees, and ensuring the office fulfills its mission to make government work better. He joined the Comptroller’s Office in December 2010, serving as former Comptroller Justin P. Wilson’s deputy comptroller and chief of staff.

Prior to his service with the Comptroller’s Office, Mumpower served in the Tennessee General Assembly as the state representative for Sullivan and Johnson counties. He was first elected to office at age 23. During his 14-year tenure, he held the positions of House Majority Leader and House Minority Leader.

The 112th General Assembly also re-elected Tre Hargett as secretary of state to his fourth four-year term. Hargett was first elected in 2009 to serve as Tennessee’s 37th secretary of state.

Secretary Hargett is the chief executive officer of the Department of State with oversight of more than 300 employees. He also serves on 16 boards and commissions, on two of which he is the presiding member. The services and oversight found in the Secretary of State’s office reach every department and agency in state government.

Hargett served in the Tennessee House of Representatives for a decade representing District 97 (Bartlett and Memphis) and was twice elected Republican Leader by his colleagues.

David Lillard was re-elected to his seventh, two-year term as state treasurer.

In his official capacity, Treasurer Lillard oversees the Tennessee Treasury Department and its more than 270 employees. The Treasury Department internally manages more than $55 billion in state and local government funds.

Treasurer Lillard has championed issues of financial literacy and strives to find new ways to improve the financial lives of Tennesseans. Since first elected in 2009, he has worked with the Treasury Department to provide Tennesseans with financial tools needed to lead a better quality of life.

Treasurer Lillard has extensive professional experience in public and private corporate finance transactions, municipal finance, governmental budgeting and related fields.

Both the comptroller and the treasurer serve two-year terms; whereas, the secretary of state serves four-year terms. All are elected to their positions by a joint convention of the House and Senate.