TML elects new 2017-2018 board members

The Tennessee Municipal League recently elected its 2017-2018 board of directors during its annual conference in Murfreesboro. Athens Councilman Bo Perkinson was elected president.

 As president of the League, Perkinson will lead the organization as it determines and proposes legislation cities want passed into law. He also plays a major role in the National League of Cities, which represents municipalities with Congress and the federal administration.

 “TML has been very instrumental in supporting legislation for cities of all sizes. Large and small communities across the state are looking for similar solutions to local problems,” said Perkinson. “As president, I will work hard to accomplish the League’s goals and legislative priorities.”  

Other board elections include three vice presidents: Wallace Cartwright, mayor of Shelbyville; Jill Holland, mayor of McKenzie, and Mike Werner, mayor of Gatlinburg. TML vice presidents are traditionally in line to serve as president.

The TML board also includes past TML presidents, mayors of Tennessee’s largest cities, eight district directors, and eight at-large directors.

The eight district directors, representing their section of the state, were nominated and elected during district caucuses. District Directors include:

  • District 1: Todd Smith, Greeneville city manager;
  • District 2: Daniel Brown, Knoxville councilmember;
  • District 3: Bill Graham, Dayton councilmember;
  • District 4: Hoyt Jones, Sparta alderman;
  • District 5: Richard Driver, Lafayette mayor;
  • District 6: Betsy Crossley, Brentwood commissioner;
  • District 7: Garry Welch, Savannah city manager; and D
  • istrict 8: Paula Sedgwick, Bartlett alderman. 

The eight at-large directors were nominated by a five-member nominating committee composed of municipal officials statewide. They were then elected for a one-year term by a majority vote of the entire membership. Those directors are:

  • Jimmy Alexander, Nolensville mayor;
  • John Clark, Kingsport mayor;
  • Vance Coleman, Medina mayor;
  • Avery Johnson, Cleveland vice mayor;
  • Bobby King, Henderson mayor;
  • Christa Martin, Columbia vice mayor;
  • Lonnie Norman, Manchester mayor; and
  • Mary Ann Tremblay, Three Way vice mayor.

The chairmen of the Tennessee Municipal Bond Fund – offering low-interest loans for capital improvements – TML Risk Management Pool – providing affordable, dependable liability coverage to municipalities – also sit on the board.

 Representatives from two affiliate organizations are also voting board members and they are Karen Johnson, Nashville councilwoman, National League of Cities board member; and C. Seth Sumner, Athens city manager, Tennessee City Management Associate president.