TN Senate, House nominate candidates for leadership roles

Republican and Democratic caucuses in both Houses elected key leadership positions for the upcoming 112th Tennessee General Assembly set to convene Jan. 12, 2021.

Randy McNally, R-Oak Ridge, was nominated by his party to serve a third term as the lieutenant governor and speaker of the Senate. McNally has served in the role since 2017 and represents State Senate District 5.

Rep. Cameron Sexton, R-Crossville, won the Republican nomination for House speaker. He has served in the role since August 2019.

The entire General Assembly will vote to confirm the nominations for lieutenant governor and speaker of the house when they convene in January.

Sen. Jack Johnson, R-Franklin, was re-elected as the Senate majority leader, and Sen. Ken Yager, R-Kingston, was re-elected as the Republican caucus chairman.

Others elected to caucus leadership positions include Sen. Ferrell Haile, R-Gallatin, as treasurer; Sen. Dawn White, R-Murfreesboro, as secretary; and Sen. Shane Reeves, R-Murfreesboro, as chaplain.

Rep. William Lamberth, R- Portland, was re-elected without opposition as majority leader.

Rep. Jeremy Faison, R-Cosby, was re-elected to a second term as caucus chair after facing opposition from Rep. Robin Smith, R-Hixson.

Additionally, Rep. Ron Gant, R-Rossville, was elected assistant majority leader; Rep. Johnny Garrett, R-Goodlettsville, was elected whip; Rep. Mark Cochran, R-Engleswood, was elected caucus treasurer; Rep. Pat Marsh, R-Shelbyville, was elected speaker pro tempore; Rep. Brandon Ogles, R-Franklin, was elected caucus vice chair; and Rep. Paul Sherrell, R-Sparta, was elected floor leader.


Democrats also elected new leadership in the House.

Rep. Karen Camper, D-Memphis, was re-elected to another term as minority leader in the House.

Rep. Vincent Dixie was elected as the new Democratic Caucus Chair. He defeated Rep. Bo Mitchell, D-Nashville, and Rep. John Ray Clemmons, D-Nashville, in a bid to replace Rep. Mike Stewart, D-Nashville who decided not to run for the leadership position.

Also new to the House leadership are Rep. Bob Freeman D-Nashville, as vice-chair, and Rep. Jesse Chism, D-Memphis, as treasurer.

Rep. Jason Powell, D-Nashville, remains the minority whip in the House.

Rep. Harold Love Jr., D-Nashville, remains the assistant floor leader. Rep. London Lamar, D-Memphis, remains the secretary.

The Senate Democratic Caucus re-elected Sen. Jeff Yarbro, D-Nashville, as the Senate minority leader; Sen. Raumesh Akbari, D-Memphis, as the Democratic caucus chairwoman; and Sen. Brenda Gilmore, D-Nashville, the Democratic floor leader.